Wordy Wednesday: Disconnect

Most things will never happen;
This one will:
my heart stands still
Cold air of lost blood, icy rejection
I’m tired but not ready for sleep
Tired of speaking, tired of feeling
Tired of ripping this wound open so you can pour your salt in–
My saline drip.
Tired of my feet above the ground and my head underwater–
Hot air balloon ripping and tearing
Disconnect–
He wanted a heart
I wanted a soul.
How does your brain work?
Your eyes are larger and weigh more
Your face is stuffed with straw and pokes me
Your voice is sharp and itchy
My fingers are bruised.
“Good job, baby! What a good baby.”
She smiles and her throat cracks open
And water flows.
–Joy Boardman, January 2013

20130127-101746.jpg

One thought on “Wordy Wednesday: Disconnect

Let me know what you think! Leave a comment :D

