Wordy Wednesday: from Words to her Lover by Gillian Allnutt

from Words to her Lover by Gillian Allnutt
….
Desist, she said,
Mocking his open fist.
I have given you my bones to keep.
I will sleep like the earth in you.
I’ve given you my eyes, though
they are stones,
My apple heart with its green
sleeves.
I’ll sing you a song like a river
flowing,
Give you the sea that grieves in me
Like broken things forgotten.
I would stir the earth for you
Like a great wind blowing.

But I am going where the moon
goes now
When he has finished sewing up
the sky
And sits and eats stars
On the other side.
….

Let me know what you think! Leave a comment :D

