Wonder Woman Wednesday: Allison Sprouse

image

Welcome to the very first Wonder Woman Wednesday!

Who better to start with than my friend and client and award-winning teacher, Allison!!
***************************************
Name: Allison Sprouse

Birthday: 12/21/71

Describe yourself as you are or as you want to be remembered
I want to be remembered as friendly, funny, and someone who loves life. Someone who saw the good in people.

Favorite book? (Or blog or podcast)
So many books to love: Le Petit Prince; The Art of Racing in the Rain; The Monk; Frankenstein; The Poisonwood Bible; The Great Gatsby; Perks of Being a Wallflower

Favorite quote

“For of all sad words of tongue or pen, The saddest are these:’It might have been.'”

What motivates you?
It depends on what I need motivation to do. My students motivate me to be the best teacher I can be every day. My family motivates me to achieve goals I’ve set. My friends motivate me to relax and have fun. My CrossFit coaches motivate me to be stronger and healthier.

How do you best take care of yourself? What is your favorite way to be healthy?
Working out and massage are two of my favorite things. Namely CrossFit and massage. Make all the jokes you want about it, (we’ve heard them all) CrossFit has challenged and changed me positively. I’m more confident in everything I do and I love the family who’s adopted me. Massage makes my tired muscles rejuvenated and less sore after those workouts.

What is your greatest strength? 
The ability to relate to a wide variety of people is my strength.

Who inspires you? What have they taught you? 
My mom worked tirelessly while I was growing up to provide for us. She’s 78 and still living alone, taking care of her home, and volunteering each week. She taught me the importance of hard work.

My husband Sean inspires me to be as kind and giving as he is. He’s truly the most selfless person I’ve ever met, and I don’t give him enough credit for being amazing. Everyone should be lucky enough to have a Sean in their lives!

What’s the best advice or wisdom you’ve ever received? 
Just being reminded to be kind to everyone as much as possible because you don’t know the battles they’re fighting.

What cheers you up or encourages you when you’re down? 
Stanley Roper (my dog) makes me happy even though he’s terrible. My niece and nephews are pretty awesome too!

What are you proudest of? 
I’m proudest of the fact that despite people not believing in me and discouraging me from becoming a teacher, that I did it anyway. Hundreds of kids have recognized my talents, embraced my weirdness and quirkiness, and reinforced why I need to do what I do every day.

What is your biggest goal for 2015? 
Love myself more. I’m a little hard on myself sometimes, and I need to realize I don’t have to be perfect. I just have to be.

{Please send a photo or two of yourself at your happiest! And tell me a little bit about the photo(s)}

image

This photo is of my nephew and I at my MAT graduation from Mary Baldwin. I graduated with a 3.97 (stupid A- in science) and I love how happy he looks here.

image

Photo 2 is at a club/bar in Visby, Sweden. I was visiting my good friend David and he captured this shot of me. It’s a keeper.

image

Photo 3 is my friend Lori and me. I love this picture because I cracked myself up (obviously) and genuine belly laughter was captured on film.
***************************************
image

Thank you, Allison for being so wonderful. Keep impacting the lives of the people around you!! You are making a difference!!!! I’m so happy you are in my life :)
image

Let me know what you think! Leave a comment :D

