Wordy Wednesday Writing Exercise: Tandem

Driving around in your beat up cadillac you play my favorite songs and reach over to brush some hair out of my face. Ever since I got my hair cut shorter, curls stick out in weird directions like television antennae. At least I’m getting good reception. 

Last night you took me out for lobster on your tandem bike. My feet kept slipping off the pedals….at one point I think I was even trying to drive us backwards. But, you kept your head up, guiding us safely, as always. 

We stopped at the top of the mountain and breathed in new perspective. I said, “Look how my glasses change color when I tilt my head. Are they rose colored or is this my blue period? Are we half full or half empty?”

(I was resisting the urge to throw myself off the edge of the scenic overlook.)

I’m tired of pedaling uphill all the time. Even with you in the lead, it’s hard work. 

I’m learning to ask you for things. I gave you my hand to pull me back from the edge. “I can hear snakes in the grass and I think it’s time to leave.”

image

Let me know what you think! Leave a comment :D

